Click here to view promotions in this area

Southern District

Southern District

The Southern District of Botswana is also known as the Ngwaketse district. Its capital is Kanye. The Southern District is home to the Bangwaketse, one of the largest growing villages in Botswana.

Botswana’s staple crop, maize and sorghum are raised in the Southern District. The Jwaneng diamond mine, the third diamond mind of Botswana was found in the Southern District.

The Southern District borders the North West Province of South Africa in the south.

Southern District is crossed by the northwesterly line of equal latitude and longitude.

Sub-districts of the Southern District are Goodhope, Kanye, Mabutsane.