Geography and history

The Erongo Province is situated in the western parts of Namibia. It has a total population of approximately 151 000 residents and the capital is Swakopmund. This province is named after the magnificent Erongo Mountain range which is a well-known tourist attraction of the country. This province borders on four others in the country – Kunene, Otjozondjupa, Khomas and Hardap.

The capital town of Swakopmund is the country’s premier holiday resort town. This town with its old architectural buildings offers tourists the chance to experience the Skeleton Coast. The town of Henties Bay is the only town situated on a stretch of the country’s coast known as the National West Coast Recreation Area. This town offers many fishing opportunities and marine life.


The Erongo Province offers a wonderful spectrum of visitor accommodation options! There are many bed and breakfasts, hotels, resorts, self-catering units, caravan and camping facilities and guest houses available in the vicinity. Please view our accommodation directory for a list of places to stay in the area.


Being one of the best holiday destinations in the country, the Erongo Province has a very successful business community thanks to tourist interest. There are loads of shops, stalls products and high quality restaurants in the area to choose from. Please visit our business directory for a complete list of all the businesses you can find in the region. Activities and attractions in the area are in abundance. There is something for everyone. Please go to our activities directory for more information on all the things to do in the area.